How Much Is a Ticket for a DUI in Florida?

On behalf of Eisenmenger, Robinson & Peters, P.A. posted in Criminal Law on Friday, October 14, 2022.

ticket for dui

A ticket for a DUI is the least of our problems as a nation. Across the US, there is a drunk driving fatality every 45 minutes. Because of this, a DUI charge can carry hefty fines and other serious penalties.

If you’re facing a DUI in Florida, it’s important to understand the penalties you’ll need to combat with the help of an attorney. In this article, we’re going to talk about the cost of a ticket for DUI offenses in Florida. Read on to learn the basics of the fines you may face and how to best contend with a DUI charge.

How Much Is a Ticket for DUI Charges in Florida?

The cost of a ticket for a DUI charge in Florida depends on your blood alcohol content and any other cited offense.

For first-time offenders, the fine will range from $500 to $2000. You will also need to serve 50 hours of community service. If you cannot, you will be charged an additional $10 for each hour that you could not complete, increasing your fine by $500.

The base fine will increase if your BAC is higher than .15 or if you have a minor under the age of 18 in the vehicle. In these scenarios, fines range from $2000 to $4000.

Second, third, and fourth-time offenders will face higher fines. They will also often face greater charges and jail time. However, the precise fine figure will depend on the individual offense.

Keep in mind that property damage and physical harm caused to others will substantially impact your fines and future insurance rates.

Other Costs Associated With a DUI Offense

In addition to the cost of a ticket, those charged with driving under the influence will also need to pay to get their car back after it has been impounded. This can cost about $200 for the first offense. It will cost more than that for subsequent offenses.

You also may need to install an ignition interlock device (IIL) onto your vehicle. This costs about $200 and requires $75 monthly payments for the duration of its use.

As we mentioned above, your insurance costs will change when you get a DUI. They’re going to increase to about 2-3 times the price of your original policy. This is because the court will require you to have special FR-44 insurance for at least 3 years after your conviction.

Avoiding Hefty Fines

Luckily, you may be able to avoid IIL installation and insurance changes if you hire a good DUI lawyer. We take pride in getting charges dismissed when police don’t follow protocols. Other times, we strive to prove your innocence or negotiate a lesser sentence for you.

We’re not afraid to fight on your behalf and negotiate a lower fine. For example, you may only get a $500 fine rather than a $2000 fine when we present your case the right way. You also may be able to retain your license, get a shorter probation period, and in some cases, avoid an insurance policy change.

Hire an Experienced Attorney & Save Your License

Now that you know the potential costs of a ticket for DUI offenses in Florida, it’s time to get legal assistance to maximize the defense of your rights and minimize your fines.

Our team is committed to helping you defend yourself against DUI charges so that you can get the lowest possible penalty. Contact us to schedule a free consultation today.